The batter was Correctly Declared Out: ICC Explain Laws behind Michael Nesser’s Catch against Sydney Sixers

A day after Brisbane Heat’s Michael Nesser stunned the cricket fraternity and fans with his stunning catch during a game against Sydney Sixers in the ongoing Big Bash League, ICC has settled the debate over the authenticity of the catch.

It was the 19th over of Sydney Sixer’s innings, when Jordan Silk played a big shot to the long-off on the delivery of Steketee, Naseer made a spectacular effort to grad the ball and threw it before going over the boundary line.

However, the ball was still outside the boundary rope and Naseer jumped again and threw the catch ball back to the playing area and rushed inside the rope to complete the catch. While the umpire gave the decision in-favour of the fielder, cricket fraternity expressed their confusion over the law of cricket.

Meanwhile, ICC has cleared the air on the ongoing debate as the cricket’s apex body in the world shared an explainer mentioning the relevant laws.

Law 19.5.2 states: A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary of his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowlers, was not entirely within the boundary,” ICC statement read.

It is important to note that as long as the fielder’s first touch of the ball is inside the boundary line, they are allowed to finish the catch however they like, provided their feet are not grounded with the ball over the boundary. Neser’s initial contact with the ball, the timing of his jump and the eventual catch were all within the laws of the game, the batter was correctly declared out,” ICC added.

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports