Duleep Trophy headlines India’s domestic cricket season 2023-24; Check Details for Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and others

BCCI Logo - Courtsey: BCCI

While the cricket world is glued with highly-competitive 16th season of the Indian Premier League, the Board of Control for Cricket in India announced India’s domestic season with Duleep Trophy in June and Ranji Trophy to take placed between January and March, next year.

As per announcement, 1846 matches will be played between the last week of June, 2023 and March 2024. Duleep Trophy will spearhead the domestic season as the coveted tournament will be played from June 28, 2023 to July 16, 2023.

The Irani Cup which will see Saurashtra locking horns with the Rest of India side on October 01, 2023. Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is all set to begin from October 16, 2023 and will run until November 06, 2023, while highly-anticipated Vijay Hazare Trophy will be played in the period of November 23, 2023 to December 15, 2023.

Both the white-ball tournaments will witness 38-teams, divided into two groups of seven teams and three groups of eight teams. Meanwhile, premier domestic tournament – Ranji Trophy – will kick off from January 05, 2024 till March 14, 2024.

BCCI has split 38 teams into five groups, where four Elite Groups will have eight teams each and Plate Group will comprise six teams.

The teams in Elite Group will play 7 league-stage matches each and two teams from each group will quality for the Quarterfinals. The six teams in Plate Group will play five league-stage matches each, with the top four making it to the semi-finals.

Women’s Domestic Season:

As per BCCI, the women’s domestic cricket season will begin with the Senior Women’s T20 trophy, which will be played from October 19, 2023 to November 09, 2023.

It will be followed by the Senior Women’s Inter Zonal Tophy – from November 24, 2023 to December 04, 2023. The 2024 will begin with the Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy, which will commence on January 04, 2024 and the final of the same will be played on January 26, 2024.

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports